Goalie Jordan Binnington named Owen Sound Attack's MVP

Article content

The dream season of 2012-2013 is likely Jordan Binnington's final season with the Owen Sound Attack.

But the 19-year-old Gravenhurst native had one final job to do for the Ontario Hockey League team. That's act as humble awards recipient as the netminder walked off with three trophies on Sunday, including one for being the Attack's most valuable player, at Owen Sound's annual awards BBQ.

"You always dream of being able to come into the season in top shape and start it successfully and be consistent throughout the whole year," Binnington said.

"I was really happy to see how it all came together. All of the hard work in the summer and all of the sacrifices you make and the discipline really pays off with your contribution to the season."

Binnington won three awards including: the Jerry Reid Memorial Award for regular season MVP; the Bill Miles Award as top goalie and the Becker Shoes Attack of the week award for being named the team's player of the week the most often (five times).

And he did it while battling a wonky ankle which he injured last summer getting ready for camp.

"That's why I had to give (trainer) Andy Brown a shout out because without him, I don't know where I'd be," said Binnington who also credited his teammates for his success.

"They're incredible and I'll never forget them."

Binnington had several highlights from the season including being named to Canada's world junior team and also posting seven shutouts during the regular season. Especially the fifth shutout which saw his billet Doug Barfoot lose a bet and have to shave off his mustache.

"It was a great year," said Binnington. "It was really fun."

Binnington missed out on one big award on the weekend, losing the Canadian Hockey League goalie-of-the-year race to Red Deer's Patrik Bartosak in a ceremony in Saskatoon at the Memorial Cup on Saturday.

"There's no question that if you look at our team, he was THE guy," said Attack general manager Dale DeGray.

"He's one of those guys who honestly fulfilled all of his obligations (to the organization) and then some. He's worked his butt off and he's done a great job. Off the ice he's been a great ambassador for the Attack."

Chris Bigras, Daniel Catenacci, and Kurtis Gabriel all went home with two awards.

Bigras earned the Harold Sutherland Construction Cup as the Attack's top National Hockey League draft prospect while also taking home the Board of Directors Henry Kelso Award as the team's scholastic player of the year.

Catenacci was the Attack Pak Fan Club favourite award winner and he also took home the Tommy Burlington Award as Owen Sound's leading scorer.

Gabriel earned the Pat McReavy Award as unsung hero and the Dave McComb Memorial Award for leadership and perseverance.

"This is probably the funnest year of hockey that I've ever had," said Gabriel.

"Being able to work into a spot with a solid role on the team was great. I just worked as hard as I could (before last season) on my weaknesses. My skating was one thing I worked on a lot."

The 20-year-old Newmarket native came into the 2012 training camp not even guaranteed a roster spot and he turned himself into a key contributor and possible NHL draft pick later this month.

"I give Kurtis credit because he went home (after the 2011-2012) season and really paid heed to some advice that we'd given him," coach Greg Ireland said.

"I give him all the credit in the world for figuring out how he has to play and bringing it night in and night out. There's a certain identity to playing (in Owen Sound) now much like there is in being an L.A. King, or a Boston Bruin, or a Chicago Blackhawk. He's exemplifies that for our team and brings it every day."

Other awards went to: Zach Nastasiuk, Butch Keeling Memorial Award for playoff MVP; Ethan Szypula, Ray McKelvie Award as the top draft pick; Holden Cook, Dan Snyder Memorial Award for positive outlook; Jaden Lindo, Harry Lumley Memorial Award as rookie of the year; Keevin Cutting, Red Leckie Award for contribution to the organization; Daniel Zweep, Howard Hindman Award for contribution to the community; and Nathan Chiarlitti, Society of Energy Professionals players' choice award.

Follow Bill Walker on Twitter at





Article content

Latest National Stories


Story continues below

News Near Owen Sound

This Week in Flyers